The Ghost build up just got better

November 12, 2010

Caissie Levy, of Hair (here and Broadway), Wicked (LA) and Rent (US tour) has just been announced as the female lead in the West End production of Ghost: the musical, opening summer 2011. Levy’s sultry voice was a big part of the charm of Hair for me, and when I checked out her background I wished I’d seen her as Elphaba.

I was looking forward to Ghost anyway, but as I think Levy has the profile to choose quality projects, this bodes well for the production. Now, how will they stage that pottery scene?

*Update* Further casting has been announced, in the form of Sharon D. Clarke (brilliant) as Oda Mae and Corrie‘s Richard Fleeshman (really?!), presumably as the hero Sam. I think I’ve said enough on TV stunt-casting so I’ll refrain from too much comment on that one. But I don’t think he’s got the pipes to match Caissie.

Leave a Reply

